TESOL 2


The other day, I enrolled in the Global TESOL College to get my internationally-recognized teaching certification. Meeting with the fellow at their office – on 32nd street, no less – assuaged several of my concerns (not necessarily knowing if I wanted to be in one country for a year, not having to take a week off of work in order to take the course) and this all feels right. They offer day courses for people who work at night (phew!) and it’s jobs like those in eastern Asia that want you to stay at least a year since they pay for your flight to and back, plus your apartment. Other countries have jobs from anywhere from 2 weeks (Europe) to a year, but a typical job can be 6 months here, 3 months there … with my tax refund and bonus at work, I can pay for the course comfortably. The course begins June 5th and will go until June 15; 9 to 1. I am nervous about getting there on time at 9 but I think if I want to – and I do – that I can do it. I feel motivated to be a good teacher, to really absorb the material … I think it would be best for me to teach children, though you can make more money teaching adults (I think) due to the fact that I can’t seem to get along with adults, if my current performance at work is any indication.

So I’m thinking to get out of here in october, after Greta’s baby is born. Maybe go for 6 months in one country, then spend a couple in Europe. Then maybe come back to New York for a while and take off again after a while. My TESOL certification is for life. Is it realistic, though, to think that one can just enter in and out of the job market here? Probably not, but I need out right now.

The problem is deciding where to go.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Go with American TESOL Institute. Much better job placement support.

Leave a Reply

