Christmas at Casa Nostra


Sean and I are Atheists but my parents and brother love the Jesus and the Mary. While we didn’t accompany them to Midnight Mass, we certainly enjoyed the Christmas dinner. A family tradition since 1980: homemade ravioli for Christmas Day. My parents haven’t gone through the hassle of making them from scratch since I was a teenager and admit they might be showing off a bit for the houseguest. If I’d have known that all I had to do to get the ravioli was bring home an Irishman, I’d have done it long ago.  They put him to work right away; slicing salami for the antipasto. My brother and I pretended to help to support him.

christmas-eva-2008-036

christmas-eva-2008-041

christmas-eva-2008-043

christmas-eva-2008-037

christmas-eva-2008-046

In case you didn’t know, Pier 1 sells iced gingerbread cookies that you can decorate yourself with the included bakery marker. Please be advised that these cookies were decorated by my brother, not my parents.

At the moment, it’s 7:38 a.m. My father and I are enjoying breakfast; he, espresso and an Eggo waffle spread with jam and me, leftover Panettone eaten straight out of the bag.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Yoli says:

    Glad you got to spend time with family.

  2. TigressLea says:

    There’s nothing better than panettone straight from the bag/box. I ate 3 during this Christmas XD I didn’t eat anything else…well almost 🙂

  3. ieatmypigeon says:

    It’s been nice, Yoli. You’re in Key Largo? I grew up in Citrus County and only make it back to Florida for selected holidays and weddings. It’s so hot!! I’m heading back to New York tomorrow for a week before we get back to Japan. Sean is dying in the heat but I think it’s a nice change of pace from the winter ….

    TigressLea, I agree with you completely.

  4. Stan says:

    Jaysuss, Mary, and Joseph, Heaven Aboov!

    Sounds like a great visit! Sure you guys aren’t a couple?

    Either way, have a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

