Conversations


Sean has a habit of asking, “Why?” when I make a simple statement. He asks, “Why,” once and then again when I’ve replied. And then he asks again. Thus, the whole act of Liv telling Sean she’s going to the store turns into a nonsensical and sometimes maddening exchange. 

I need to go to the store.

Why?

So I can buy some fruit.

Why?

So I can eat it.

Why?

So my stomach will be full.

Why?

So it will be full.

Why?

Because you’re annoying.

Why?

Because you’ve probably always been that way.

Why?

Because you’re not just happy unless you’re “taking da piss.” 

Why?

Because you’re Irish.

Why?

Because your parents are Irish.

Why?

Because their parents were Irish.

Why?

Because they came from Ireland.

Why?

Why don’t you tell me?

Why?

Because I’m about to deck you.

Why?

Because you’re annoying.

Why? 

And so on and so on, until I give him a cookie.

One Comment Add yours

  1. ninonokao says:

    That’s all that must be done to receive a cookie? I probably deserve like sixty cookies a day!

Leave a Reply

