Japan-Sick


There are days when I miss Japan so much it hurts. And then I do stupid things like this:

Can I still call it makizushi if it looks like someone tried to turn it into nigiri?

At least the tako su came out properly.

日本を寂し.

This post has been brought to you by Deliciousbaby Photo Friday.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. IkutamaJ says:

    Not bad, it looks far better than anything I could throw together. You made that?

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      I did, which is why it looks like someone sat on it. I learned to make a lot of Japanese food while I was living there, but proper makizushi has always eluded me. Sigh.

  2. This looks good.

    Reminds me of Kimbap here in Korea, except not made with fish, so would be quite a different taste.

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      Mmm… kimbap.

  3. Jamaipanese says:

    I’m just dieing to be able to do my first visit -_-

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      You can do it, Kirk! Just keep at working hard at Operation Visit Japan. It took me a year of overtime and selling my stuff to save up for my move. Japan is waiting for you!

  4. Marie says:

    I’m totally guilty of this kind of thing. I’ll waste an entire afternoon making a bunch of little things so I can have rice, miso soup and sides on a tray. I’ll be thinking all along that I’m going to eat like this from now on, but then I’m burnt out after two hours of prep and that’s that for another two months or so until the craving hits again. If it’s winter I just make oden, easy peasy!

    I like your blog:-)

  5. MummyT says:

    Did you fan the rice?! That’s the bit that always strikes me as just FAR, FAR too much hassle.

    I think they look very nearly professional. And I would totally eat them. I tend to just chop up fresh fish, lay out wasabi, ginger and soy, get the chopsticks out and call it sashimi.

    Sadly, my son is by now wise to this strategy.

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      I do “fan” the rice… but I’m wondering if I do it for long enough. Maybe that’s the trick; having the rice be cool enough so that it won’t fall apart when you try to cut or roll it (and, yes, fanning is such a hassle!). I’ll try to stick it out longer next time. Trying to get up the nerve to attempt doing raw fish; it’s my very favorite, but I have it in my head that it can’t really be as simple as slicing up a piece of raw salmon to make it taste to delicious….

Leave a Reply

