Hell


… is not waking up at 6am to head to the airport. Hell is not paying an obscene amount for a cab because you have no car and the town is too small for a direct bus and 6am is too early to beg anyone to drive you the two hours to Ciampino. Hell is not trudging through a packed airport, standing for 15 minutes on one line only to be told that it is the wrong line. Hell is not dealing with Ryan Air.

This is hell:

Hell is getting into the proper line, seeing a random, lone kitty cat just, you know, chilling on the counter of the Bureau de Change, and NOT BEING ABLE TO PLAY WITH IT BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS CRAP:

Inching closer and closer to the counter, craning my neck backwards every few feet – IS IT STILL THERE?! WILL IT STILL BE THERE WHEN I’M DONE?! KITTY! – and watching the cat dip its neck to delicately lick its paws and, somehow, lick its belly all without budging from its patch of counter. Stripey and beautiful, weird and ridiculous. I can’t tell you how much I adore cats. I can’t tell you how much I miss mine. Never mind what a CAT is doing hanging out at an airport currency exchange counter. Never mind that I’m an Atheist and don’t believe in Hell. THIS IS HELL AND I HAVE FOUND IT. A cat is miraculously and wonderfully here – so close! so very close! – and I’m separated from it by a massive line. Hell. Alanis Morisette Isn’t It Ironic Hell.

Wait for me, kitty. I’m coming.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancie says:

    You wouldn’t believe how much that cat looks like my Indy. Thankfully Indy just walked in for a pat 🙂

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      Waaaah! He looks like my Leia, too! Except Leia has white feet. What is life without a furry friend?

      1. CC says:

        Yes Leia….

  2. Kao says:

    DID YOU GET TO PET HIM?! You’ve left me in suspense!!!

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      Ha ha… yes! I did. After waiting an ETERNITY, I made a beeline for the cat. He was just chilling. Barely looked at me, but he did purr when I scratched him under the chin. 猫ちゃんを持ってたいよ!

      1. Kao says:

        ♥ Yay 🙂

  3. robingraham says:

    So I’m getting that you like cats. That’s what I’m getting from this post. But airports not so much. Enjoy your time in Rathmines. I have landed in Tarifa, Spain (see latest post). I saw a cat on a rock at the coast the other day. There should have been a seagull there, but instead a cat.

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      I just saw another cat at college as I was walking in. Black and white. Funny-looking in one eye.

      So nice to be back in the ‘Mines, although the weather has been abysmal. That’s okay! I don’t mind! Not even rain can rain on my back-in-Dublin parade!

  4. Nick says:

    What’s the current cat:Euro exchange rate then?

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      1.48 meows to the miao; 2 purrs to the fusa.

  5. Marie says:

    My heart just melted.

  6. Sophie says:

    Fun post. Love cats 🙂

  7. ieatmypigeon says:

    Kitty.

  8. My Staffie says hello to the cat, and can’t wait to play it…I hope it can run fast lol……

  9. Aww, I love kitties, too! There’s a homeless woman around the corner from our house with a cat and a dog. Every time I walk by her I have the strongest urge to pet the cat. I don’t because I know petting will lead to love, and then I’ll have to steal her/him which will lead to criminal charges in a foreign country. So, I just stare with longing…

Leave a Reply

