Dinner at Home


Fiori di Zucca

And so it begins.

A quiet night at home. First, a day of writing. Then a drive along the boardwalk, towards the Maga Circe, clouded by November rain. Some housework. Some errands. Dinner now. Something simple.

Zucchini flowers from the vegetable vendor, each stuffed with a cube of mozzarella; beer batter; Prosciutto Toscano from the deli.

fiori di zucca

Nobody here but us piggies.

This post has been brought to you by WanderFood Wednesday.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Margo says:

    Oh. My. I will now be thinking about beer battered zucchini flowers, “each stuffed with a cube of mozzarella”

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      I’m still thinking about them, too, Margo… drool.

  2. omg. i need to come eat at YOUR HOUSE>

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      That’s what I’ve been telling everybody. Come to me! I’ll feed you all!

  3. Phil says:

    Wow. That looks delicious. I see there is an empty heineken bottle in the last picture. How many did you leave out of the frame?

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      Haha, Phil… the bottle isn’t so empty; it’s the dregs of what I used to make the batter. I found a good use for the remainder of the booze, don’t you worry…

  4. njdurbin says:

    Those squash blossoms look fantastic! Maybe simple to prepare but not simple in thought. 🙂

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      Sooooo good. I first learned about them in the states; my bro’s girlfriend’s family grows and fries their own. They sell them everywhere here so I just had to try making my own zucchini blossom fritters. Highly recommend!

  5. pridesing says:

    I have never heard of these zucchini flowers. They look beautiful and the finish products, deli-sh!

    1. ieatmypigeon says:

      Next time I see you, we’re making some. Muah!

Leave a Reply

